Joining the Mixing It Up Challenge 2012

I came across this challenge at the Musings of a Bookshop Girl blog, and thought I’d join in. The idea is to read books of diifferent types, with a view to pushing the boundaries of one’s reading. Sounds fun. There are sixteen categories altogether, but I’m going for ten. They are:

1. Classics – Agnes Grey by Anne Brontë

2. Biography – People Who Say Goodbye by P.Y. Betts

3. Cookery, Food and Wine – Sweets by Tim Richardson

4. History

5. Romance

6. Travel – Touching the Void by Joe Simpson

7. Poetry and Drama

8. Journalism and Humour

9. Science and Natural History

10. Social Sciences and Philosophy

I have no set plans for which books I’ll read, or when (the Mixing It Up Challenge lasts all year), but I do want 2012 to be an interesting reading year.

9 thoughts on “Joining the Mixing It Up Challenge 2012

  1. Pingback: Anatomy of a library visit « Follow the Thread

  2. Hi David – and welcome to Mixing It Up! Hope you have a good reading year… I have high hopes that I’ll actually vary my reading up more in 2012 instead of keep lunging for the easiest reads on my shelf!

  3. Pingback: January wrap-up « Follow the Thread

  4. Pingback: Anne Brontë, Agnes Grey (1847) « Follow the Thread

  5. Hi David! Just dropping by for a visit to mark our quarter-way point… where DOES the time go? Congratulations on tackling your first category! 🙂

  6. Hi Ellie – agree with you on the time! I’m further behind on the challenge than I wanted to be by now, but there’s plenty of time yet…

  7. Pingback: Joe Simpson, Touching the Void (1988) « Follow the Thread

  8. Pingback: Book notes: coming of age in Texas… and a history of sweets « Follow the Thread

  9. Pingback: Book notes: William Wharton and P.Y. Betts | Follow the Thread

Leave a comment